“That PBY was my leading lady, that entire thing was a burden”

As soon as a drama ends and especially when it had a successful run, the actors would be baraged with a lot of interviews here and there.  I caught this one interview from http://www.mydaily.co.kr and it was in Hangul, fortunately my dongsaeng @stroppyse from Soompi translated this and I was given permission to share this on my blog.  Thank you dongsaeng!

y8n0oj6

“That Park Bo Young was my leading lady, that entire thing was a burden”

In the JTBC Friday-Saturday drama ‘Strong Woman Do Bong Soon’, the ‘actor’ Park Hyung Sik’s performance was judged to have risen a level. It is the first work where he was able to cast off the title of being an idol and was considered to be a true actor. And so, he is now known as ‘new actor’ Park Hyung Sik.

iirugtp

“ From the very beginning, ’Strong Woman Do Bong Soon’ was a very burdensome work. The director took me in that state and basically had to raise me. It was to such a degree that he had to drag me out like that. (Comment: He means that he was very nervous, and that the director had to provide a lot of guidance to get his performance.) Having acted while hearing ’try it as you want to do it’, for the first time, I realized that I was able to act like this. It was because there were many seniors actors and a good teacher like Park Bo Young with me. This is the first time that it’s been so much fun while shooting.”

During the interview, Park Hyung Sik used the phrase “feeling burdened” several times. During the broadcast run of ’Strong Woman Do Bong Soon’, his response to reporters’ questions was to confess to feeling burdened. When asked “What was such a burden?”, Park Hyung Sik answered “That the actress Park Bo Young was to be my acting partner, that entire thing.”

ciieopw

“Those whom I respect so much, Jo Jung Seok, Cha Tae Hyun, Song Joong Ki and other senior (actors), Park Bo Young acted with them. How could someone who was able to match performances with such good actors now be matching her performance to a newbie like me… it wouldn’t be right if I became a big problem for the production, so I felt very burdened by it. And then on the day of the script reading, I also made a mistake. Everyone was very worried, but (Park Bo Young) said to me ’Why are you trying to do it by yourself. Trust the director, trust me, and let’s do it’. Since she grabbed my hand like that, I was able to be more comfortable.” (Comment: He’s talking about PBY metaphorically grabbing his hand to steady and guide him rather than actually taking his hand.) Once his body was able to relax, as if taking to water, Park Hyung Sik was able to start becoming the slick leading male actor Ahn Min Hyuk. Park Bo Young also said in an interview complimenting him “Park Hyung Sk was entirely Ahn Min Hyuk”.

“In about the middle of the drama, I gained some confidence. I think I was able to start becoming more confident when I started going to the director a little less. At the beginning, because of my worrying about the character, I really went to the director a lot. However as I became more confident, without hesitating by myself, I was able to “Go”. (Comment: This means that instead of deliberating and hesitating, not knowing what to do, he was able to take the character and act his scenes out.) In truth, even after that, I asked Bo Young noona once. Whether I was a little better now. Noona answered me with a smile ‘Are you still worrying about things like that’. I liked that matching of our performance very much.

yjdlz83

[박형식. 사진 = 김성진 기자 ksjksj0829@mydaily.co.kr]

이승길 기자 winnings@mydaily.co.kr

기사제보 및 보도자료 press@mydaily.co.kr
사진 및 기사 구매 contents@mydaily.co.kr
– NO.1 뉴미디어 실시간 뉴스 마이데일리 (www.mydaily.co.kr)
저작권자 ⓒ 마이데일리. 무단전재&재배포 금지 –

This entry was posted in Currently Watching, Other Actors and Actresses and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

